"Committed to the conservation
of a unique wild flower heritage"

Botanical Society of South Africa
E info@botanicalsociety.org.za

T +27 (0)21 797-2090
F +27 (0)21 797-2376

OFFICE HRS: Mon - Thu 8:30 to 16:30, Fri 8:30 to 16:00
Closed daily from 13:00 - 14:00, Weekends and Public Holidays.

When the Botsoc Head Office is closed, please kindly visit either of the BotSoc bookshops at Kirstenbosch entrances 1 and 2, where staff will assist you with membership joining and/or renewals

​​​​​​​​​​​​​ ​​​​​​​


About Us


Click to view bigger image


Council Members

Dates denote the year that members retire from their term of office

Dr Farieda Khan (President 2020)

Dr Farieda Khan holds a Doctor of Philosophy degree, obtained at the University of Cape Town. She has amassed experience as a consultant in social impact assessment, an environmental researcher and as a freelance journalist covering topics such as conservation history; cultural heritage; and politics and the environment.

Mr Andrew Blackmore (Chairperson 2019 )
Mr Andrew Blackmore is employed by Ezemvelo KZN Wildlife conservation authority, dealing with various legislative instruments (e.g. Environmental Impact Assessments) where there is potential threat to biodiversity.  Andrew has 23 years of experience in conservation, ecology, biodiversity, legal research and planning. Joining Council, he hopes to offer advice at a strategic level, particularly from landscape conservation and legal perspectives. He is also aware of the importance of strategic partnerships between government and non-government sectors and feels with his experience could be of value to establish and enhance partnerships.

Dr Lee Le Roux (Vice- chairperson 2018)
Dr Lee Le Roux has a long history with BotSoc, and has valuable skills and experience in marketing and communications. 

Mr Moegamat Stenekamp (Treasurer 2018)
Director of A2A Kopano Inc. and Stenekamp and Mohamed Inc. Professional Association membership with SAICA, IRBA, Institute of Directors and the South African Institute of TAX practitioners. 

Mr Ashwell Glasson (2018) 
Mr Ashwell Glasson is a Project Manager. 

Mrs Suretha Botha (2020)

Mrs Botha holds a BSc (Hons) Cum Laude in Environmental Science. Ms Botha brings a strong Environmental Education, Conservation and Sciences skill set to the BotSoc.

Prof Ramagwai Sebola (2020)

Prof Sebola holds a PhD in Plant Systematics/Taxonomy from the University of the Witwatersrand. We look forward to working with Prof Sebola and the wealth of experience that he brings to the Society.

Head Office Staff Members
Zaitoon Rabaney (Executive Director)
Ms Zaitoon Rabaney has a BSocSc (Hons) from the University of the Western Cape. She has been with BotSoc since 1996. z.rabaney@botanicalsociety.org.za 

Colette Chung (Finance Manager)
Mrs Colette Chung has a diploma in Internal Auditing from CPUT and has completed the SAP accounting package training. Colette is responsible for the financial management of the Society.

Simone van Rooyen (System Administrator, membership, Veld & Flora)
Mrs Simone van Rooyen has been with the Society since June 2001 and wears many hats including membership administration, participating in the Veld & Flora committee and handling of the Veld & Flora content and advertising. s.vanrooyen@botanicalsociety.org.za/ info@botanicalsociety.org.za 

Nasera Baker (System Administrator, membership)
Mrs Nasera Baker processes new applications and renewals for membership, and assists members with payments and printing new cards. n.baker@botanicalsociety.org.za

Virginia Ngqezana (Membership administrator)
Miss Virginia Ngqezana joined the Head Office team in 2013 and processes new applications and renewals for membership, and assists members with payments and printing new cards. v.ngqezana@botanicalsociety.org.za 

Moosa Behardien (Office Administrator)
Mr Moosa Behardien is our General Office Assistant.

Karen Carstens (Northern support)
Ms Karen Carstens is one of the head office staff working with the Bankenveld branch and stationed at the Walter Sisulu National Botanical Garden. She is mainly involved with branch administration, activities and membership related matters.

Isabel Johnson (KZN support) 
Ms Isabel Johnson plays an important role in stewardship work in KwaZulu- Natal.

Contract staff seconded to support CREW nationally
Hlengiwe Mtshali- Durban based
Kaveesha Naicker- Durban based
Mahlatse Mogale- Pretoria / Limpopo based (working with LEDET)